Cleantella!

So I’ve been on a no sugar buzz for the past few days. Cold turkey. It was niggling at me for months that I was ruining all my mega healthy “clean” meals by just eating a mound of chocolate come 8pm and the decision officially came about after a night of total sugar carnage that, let’s just say, involved one caramel egg too many.

So there I was, suddenly devoid of chocolate and biscuits. It was actually quite easy during the day but  I wasn’t stupid though, I knew I was going to have to draft in reinforcements to combat the inevitable chocolate cravings that would arrive come evening time. I had come across quite a few “clean” treat recipes in the previous while but one that had stuck out for me was “Cleantella.”

Nutella was never really on my radar until a few weeks ago when my boyfriend arrived home with a jar of it and a packet of cream crackers and I was introduced to the wondrous nutty chocolately goodness. Tasty? Yes. Healthy? Naaaay. It’s easy to assume that Nutella is healthy, especially because of their marketing campaign that boasts the fact that there’s a few hazelnuts in there and touts it as the perfect breakfast but which neglects to mention the 5 and half teaspoons of sugar per two tablespoons of the stuff. (That’s the equivalent of putting 5 Oreos on your toast in the morning. Mmmm, nutrish.)

I’m not going to definitively state that I’ll never eat sugar again but for the moment it’s a sugar free Underground Kitchen! So here it is –  loads of hazelnuts, high-ish protein, all natural ingredients Cleantella that really does taste like the real deal. This makes loads and should keep in the fridge for a few weeks!

 

Ingredients

IMG_0101

200g raw hazelnuts

1 1/2 tbsp vanilla essence

1/4 cup raw cacao powder ( I got mine from the Punnet Health Store in Glasthule. Check them out, sounder lads you could not meet)

1/4 cup plus 2tbsp honey

1/4 tsp salt

1/2 cup of milk of your choice.

50g Ground Almonds (not pictured as I hadn’t initially planned to put them in!)

 

Method

1. Roast the hazelnuts for 6 – 8 mins at 200 degrees C.

IMG_0103              IMG_0104

 

2. Rub them together between two pieces of kitchen paper to help get the skin off. They’ll probably require a bit of extra elbow grease to get them all totally skinned.

IMG_0106              IMG_0108

 

3. Whizz them in a blender until they’re powdery.

IMG_0111

 

4. Throw in all the other ingredients and whizz for ages (probably about 5 mins altogether) until you get the right consistency. If it’s too runny (as mine initially was) add more ground almonds and whizz again until it’s right.

IMG_0119

 

5. Whack her on some toast / crackers / rice cakes and enjoy!

photo (2)

 

 

Leave a Reply

